Can we back up everything we say? Do we really believe everything we say about God? A couple of years ago I was standing in line next to these two “ladies” that were….let’s just say…not from around here. They were talking some serious “trash” about various life issues – the Italian mafia, the cops, “G’s”, – LOTS of “G’s” – how they could do this and that, and they weren’t afraid of anything…or anybody!  BIG attitude!

It was pretty ironic coming from these 2 petite women – although I knew these women could probably pound me! (ha) I did not want to find out! I wondered if it were all true. Did they really know someone in the Italian mafia….?? That’s kinda cool……..ok, maybe not!!! They seemed pretty confident – could they back it up? I had a feeling they could not.

I began to wonder about Christians who talk trash. We sit around and say things like, “God is good!”, We have an awesome God!”, He works all things for the good!” – but do we REALLY believe it or are we just talkin’ BIG? Can we back it up by our experiences and our daily life? I know God can uphold his end of the bargain, but do we uphold our end…by believing. Do we really believe that He is awesome (Psalm 6:35), that He is my peace (John 14:27), that He heals (Isaiah 61:1, Matthew 10:8), that He DOES work all things for the good of those who love Him (Romans 8:28)?

God help us in our unbelief – no more talkin’ trash. Pour into us your love and power. Open our eyes to see your awesome hand all around us. Cause us to be genuine, MIGHTY women AND men of FAITH!

