Almost always when I get overwhelmed it’s because I’m not putting “first things first”. Make sure you get God’s Word in you every day…even just reading through a little daily devotional for just 5 minutes in the morning. It is critical to renew our minds with God’s Word. Do you have defeating and negative thoughts….or do you have empowering, grace-filled, encouraging thoughts? There are 3 main places our thoughts come from: God, the devil/the enemy and our own minds.

God sounds like this: John 10:10 says that God came to give you LIFE and that you may have it abundantly!” God sounds like: you can do it! I have given you everything you need! You are my chosen child and I have an amazing plan for you and your family and I love you unconditionally!

The enemy sounds like this: He is in opposition to all things of God – he is the enemy of God, and therefore thinks of you as an enemy to be destroyed. Remember that devil is the “father of lies” – there is no Truth in him, “He comes only to kill, steal and destroy.” (John 10:10)  You will never amount to anything, you should just die and end it now, everyone hates you, God isn’t real, you are a bad mom or dad, you’ve tried that before and it doesn’t work, you’re running out of money, there is never enough, you’re body is so ugly and so on….blah, blah, blah…

Our Minds have 2 parts:

1.) Old man/flesh man (before we knew God) which is our own fallen thinking… It sounds and acts like:  I want more, I need more, I can’t ever have enough, what I have isn’t right for me… I’m not good enough, life isn’t fair, corruption and disobedience.

2.) New man/spirit man (after we come to God)   It has to be RENEWED by God’s word. We must have God’s “filter” over our minds to keep us on track and out of the ditch. 😉 Romans 12:2 “…be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” It sounds like this: I am enough in God’s eyes, I am more than a conqueror, I have just what I need, I’m content, I’m at peace, I have joy, I love others and forgive them because God forgives me. I want to be obedient to what God is saying to me.

Resist the enemy…he is a LIAR!! Renew your mind with God’s word! You are an awesome, valuable and a capable child of the King….take one day at a time and lean on the Lord (not yourself) and he will make your path straight! (Proverbs 3:5-6)

Now go take on the day!!! 🙂 ~Kelly

